for the government and the Canadian mineral industry to help determine policies and decisions that will ensure an adequate, dependable and timely flow of minerals to meet the country's needs at reasonable cost. The Science and Technology Sector includes the Geological Survey of Canada, the Canada Centre for Mineral and Energy Technology (CANMET) the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Earth Physics Branch, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing and the Polar Continental Shelf Project, all of which are engaged in research and the provision of information, and the Explosives Division, which controls, under the provisions of the Explosives Act, the production and handling of explosives.

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Eldorado Nuclear Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited, the Atomic Energy Control Board, the National Energy Board, Uranium Canada Limited and the Interprovincial Boundary Commissions report to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources. Operationally the International Boundary Commission reports through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources; in dealing with its counterpart in the United States it is responsible to the Secretary of State for

External Affairs.

Department of External Affairs. The main function of the Department of External Affairs, established in 1909 (RSC 1970, c.E-20), is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The responsible minister is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer (deputy minister) of the department, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is assisted by the Deputy Under-Secretary and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries and is advised by officers in charge of bureaus, offices and divisions. Directors-general or directors of these units are each responsible for a part of the department's work and are assisted by foreign service officers, specialists in various occupational groups and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioner, Ambassador, Minister, Counsellor, First Secretary, Second Secretary, Third Secretary and Attaché at diplomatic posts and Consul General, Consul and Vice-Consul at consular posts. Canada maintains approximately 180 diplomatic, consular and other missions, 60 of which are non-resident.

In Ottawa the department's work is conducted by regional, functional and administrative bureaus and a number of operational units. The four regional bureaus administer 12 geographical divisions, each responsible for the countries of a region. The European Affairs Bureau includes three divisions - Western Europe, Eastern Europe and Northwestern Europe including Britain; the Bureau of Asian and Pacific Affairs includes the East Asia, Pacific and South Asia Divisions; the Bureau of African and Middle Eastern Affairs, the African Affairs I (Anglophone), African Affairs II (Francophone) and Middle Eastern Divisions; and the Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs, the Caribbean (Commonwealth), Latin American and United States of America Divisions. The seven functional bureaus include 20 divisions. The Bureau of Economic and Scientific Affairs comprises the Aid and Development, Commercial Policy, Scientific Relations and Environmental Problems, and Transport, Communications and Energy divisions. The Bureau of Legal Affairs includes the Legal Advisory and Legal Operations divisions; the Bureau of Consular Affairs, the Consular Operations, and Consular Policy and Research divisions; the Bureau of Defence and Arms Control Affairs, the Arms Control and Disarmament, and Defence Relations divisions; the Bureau of Public Affairs, the Academic Relations Service, Cultural Affairs, Historical, Information and World Exhibitions Program divisions; the Bureau of Coordination, the Commonwealth Institutions, Federal-Provincial Coordination and Francophone Institutions divisions; and the Bureau of United Nations Affairs, the United Nations Economic and Social Affairs and United Nations Political and Institutional Affairs divisions. The four administrative bureaus are responsible respectively for Personnel, Finance and Administration, Communications and General Services, and Security and Intelligence Liaison.

!n addition, there are an Inspection Service, a Policy Analysis Group, a Protocol Division, an Operations Centre, a Central Staff, an Interdepartmental Committee on External Relations, a Coordinator of Information Systems Development, a Special Adviser on Foreign Service appointments and related policies, a Chief Air Negotiator, an Adviser on Bilingualism and a Special Adviser on Media Communications.

The International Joint Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada as well as to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Finance. Created by an act of Parliament in 1869, this department now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10 as amended). It is primarily responsible for advising the government on the economic and financial affairs of Canada. The department's work is carried out in five branches. The Tax Policy and Federal-Provincial Relations Branch helps to form tax policy and maintain the tax structure. It deals with personal income and commodity taxes, taxes on corporations and Canada's international tax relations. Fiscal relations with the provinces are the responsibility of a Federal-Provincial Relations Division. The branch also administers grants to municipalities in lieu of new taxes on government property and advises on the government's social development and manpower policies. The Economic Programs and Government Finance Branch is concerned with resource development, various government programs of broad economic development and the financing of Crown corporations and